Prof. Daw Yi Sandar Thein
Professor and Head

M.B,B.S, M.Med.Sc (anaes), Dr. Med.Sc (anaes), Dip.Med.Sc (EM), Dip.Med.Ed


Department of Anaesthesia was a sub-specialty department under the Faculty of Sugery, Mandalay since 1956. At that time, the Head of the Department was Dr. DN Biswas M.B., B.S., D.A(London), I.R.C.P., M.R.C.S(London). After his retirement in 1983, Dr. Shilar San San Myint M.B.,B.S., D.A., F.F.A.R.C.S (London) took charge of the Department up to 1988. In those days, anaesthesia subject was taught in M.B.,B.S (Final Part II) students (in old curriculum) and then in Final part I students in new curriculum. In January 1998, Post Gradute Diploma course for Anaesthesia (D.A.) was opened. The candidates have to sit an entrance exam held by the Directorate of Medical Sciences. The course was a one year course structured with theory and clinical trainings. Only two batches were produced (1998/1999) and Dr.U Tin Hlaing (M.B.,B.S.,D.A.) who was the head of the department took the chair of the Post Graduate Board of Studies. In 2001, M.Med Sc. (Anaes) course was opened. It is a two years course, structured with basic science subjects, general anaesthesia, specialty trainings and critical care rounds. In 2014, M.Med.Sc (Anaes) training was changed to 3 years course. They also have to take part in A&E duties and have to put up a dissertation for partial fulfillment of the degree. In the same year (2001), a Doctorate course was also started which is a three years course structured with nine modules. The candidate has to submit a thesis before the summative assessment.

Read More

Recent News

Click for more News

Recent Events

Click for more Events

Recent Announcement

Click for more Announcement
University of Medicine, Mandalay

Our Recent Articles